0 ASA grading

The ASA physical status classification system is a system for assessing the fitness of patients before surgery. In 1963 the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) adopted the five-category physical status classification system; a sixth category was later added. These are: 

1. A normal healthy patient. 

2. A patient with mild systemic disease , with no functional limitations

3. A patient with moderate systemic disease , with functional limitations

4. A patient with severe systemic disease that is a constant threat to life. 

5. A moribund patient who is not expected to survive even with or without the operation. 

6. A declared brain-dead patient whose organs are being removed for donor purposes. 

Drawback of this grading :
  1.  Does not take into account the risk of surgery
  2. Asymptomatic patient is not taken into account

No comments:

Post a Comment

Ask your doubts / point out towards any error / show appreciation / explain anything you wish to.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
To Search for a "particular word" on "the page on your screen" , press Ctrl + F and then type the word you need to search on the visible page.

eg: If you need to search the word "Anatomy" on this page -- Press "Ctrl + F" , (a box will appear) and then type Anatomy in the box that has appeared.